No One Can Boast In God’s Presence

As I was doing my morning devotion today,  this verse of the Bible caught my attention and I thought I did share it with you guys so we can all learn a thing or two from it.
1Corinthians1:29 (GNT) “This means that no one can Boast in God’s Presence.

I know a lot of us believe it is not possible for us to boast in God’s presence since God is not a man but a spirit which means he won’t be there in the physical for us to look him in the eyes and go on about how we were able to make use of our knowledge and experience to arrive at a certain answer nor will we go on our knees to pray to him and then talk about how we were able to do it on our own which might sound true but remember God’s word in Matthew 25:40 that said “The King will reply, ‘I tell you, whenever you did this for one of the least important of these followers of mine, you did it for me!’”   This simply means God sees our actions and attitudes towards others as actions and attitudes towards himself. This then implies that in as much as you boast about your achievement and attributed it to your hard work,  knowledge or experience, etc. to any one,  be it your kid, your junior colleagues, or your domestic servants,  you have done so to God and it is plain wrong.

Yes,  you were able to achieve it but remember that the race is not to the swift,  nor the battle to the strong but it’s God that shows mercy to them all.

Paul also made it clear to us when he said in 1Corinthians1:27-28 that “God purposely chose what the world considers nonsense in order to shame the wise, and chose what the world considers weak in order to shame the powerful. He chose what the world looks down on and despises and feel is nothing in order to destroy what the world thinks is important.”

He then went further in verse 29-31 to state that “This means that no one can boast in God’s presence. But God has brought you into union with Christ Jesus, and God has made Christ to be our wisdom. By him we are put right with God; we become God’s holy people and are set free. So then, as the scripture says, “Whoever wants to boast must boast of what the Lord has done.””
image

PRAYER POINT: God, Grant me your Grace to understand that all my achievements are not by my power nor by my might but they are all your precious gift given to me through Jesus Christ and in this I pray that I keep boasting in my weakness for when I am weak, you made me strong.

