Let It Drop

image

image

Nowadays, whenever I come across a girl, I am quick to ask her what her likely reactions are to different situations, most especially her most likely reaction to situation where she feels she’s being hurt or wronged.

Not like I don’t have my default reaction to situations like that nor am I planning to hurt her but I have got to know what I should expect from a potential friend when things ain’t all smiles.

At least, the popular stereotype of the nagging wife ain’t fiction but fact. I have had a great deal of nagging even from friends and it comes from the girls.

In my little understanding of the bible and the Christian lifestyle; a Christian is to forgive everyone anything he might have against them and most importantly, seek to end or settle any and all misunderstanding or disagreement someone might have against him or her (Mathew 5:23-24).

We do hear phrases like ‘wounds will heal but the scar will remain’ and ‘its easier to forgive than to forget‘.

In as much as it is easier to forgive than to forget, the truth about why it is easier is because ‘it is also easier to make money than to become a billionaire‘.

What am I saying?
Same way you have to first make money before you can become a billionaire is the same way you also have to forgive before you can forget. It is a process and until you are done with forgiving, you can’t start the process of forgetting.

The saying ‘wounds will heal but its scar will remain‘ is not so true as I have had some terrible injuries that have left no scar, I have also had injuries that have left scars.

The funniest thing is that as obvious as some scars are, like the one on my hand that I get to see everyday, I can not even remember what happened, how the scar got there or when it did.

So no matter how bad it might look or sound, how terrible it felt or how hard it got to you, you have the potential to forgive and forget.

One simple rule I have learnt about hurt is that you can only feel hurt for as long as you hold on to it. The moment you let go is the same moment the hurt goes.

Mark 11:25 (AMP) says

“And whenever you stand praying, if you have anything against anyone, forgive him and let it drop (leave it, let it go), in order that your Father Who is in heaven may also forgive you your [own] failings and shortcomings and let them drop.

I like the phrase ‘Let it drop’. It means release it, let it go, let go of the hold on it, get it off your mind, stop holding on to it, etc.

I will like to encourage someone today to let it drop. Whatever hurt you might be holding on to is a burden and until you let it go, it will keep occupying that spot in your life thereby drawing you back from reaching out for other things.

