Bend But Don’t Break

Do everything possible on your part to live in peace with everybody.
Romans 12:18 (GNT)

One of the hardest things to do is to be happy with those who hurt you.

Few years back when I was in secondary school, I used to have this very strong believe in Karma and I believed that there is no greater karma than myself, so I used to refer to myself as my own karma.

It was hard for one to offend me or anyone I know and never get paid back in full either directly or indirectly. I believed the way you treat others is the way you want to be treated and there was no other better way of letting you know what you are doing than you having a feel of it.

It turned out that I was preoccupied with anger. Smiling became a bit difficult and everything felt stiff. I felt I could not accommodate the behaviour of others except they are doing good. Most times, I was in constant battle with myself and people felt I was just this kind of ‘sadist’. I decided to keep to myself and I stopped talking. The words I say could be counted and wherever a wrong was being done, I pretend not to be aware of it.

I couldn’t live a happy life until I understood the scriptures in Romans 12:21 that says “Do not let evil defeat you; instead, conquer evil with good.”

Then my behaviour changed and I was free from the inner battle. I learnt that being a Christian means extending the love of Christ to all.

I learnt how God wants me to do good to those that hurt me and even pray for my enemies. How God wants me to live in peace with everyone, either they hurt me or make me happy.

The scripture says “Do everything possible on your part to live in peace with everybody.” This means that you should make conscious efforts to do all it takes to live in peace with everybody and that means you don’t have to be rigid like the old me described above but you have to learn to accommodate people while treating them and teaching them in love according to the word of God.

It was then I learnt the rule of bending so as not to break.

If you do not learn how to bend and accommodate others the way they are, then you are working towards being broken. If you do not treat people in love and let them learn from you and your way of life, you might end with a broken spirit.

You need to understand people, give room for errors, try to see things from their perspective but never let their way/ mode of thinking stop you from being a better Christian.

One of the best things I learnt from Aberdeen was that ‘my life might be the only Bible someone else might read‘. This means I have to do all it takes to live in peace with people so as to promote the word of God through my behaviour.

The way you treat others might be the only chance someone might get to understand/ have an idea of what Christianity is all about.

Being hard on people will only make their heart more hardened and consequently lead to a broken spirit from you but treating them in love while living in peace with them will definitely lead to a joyful spirit.

