How You Should Pray

image

“In my deepest, darkest moments, what really got me through was a prayer. Sometimes my prayer was ‘Help me.’ Sometimes a prayer was ‘Thank you.’ What I’ve discovered is that intimate connection and communication with my creator will always get me through because I know my support, my help, is just a prayer away.” ~ Iyanla Vanzant

Jesus gave a prayer template to his disciples when they asked him how they should pray (Matthew 6:9-13).

This template is a vital part of a Christians life, it is not just a prayer template but a guide to happy living.

It teaches us to forgive others so that our Father in heaven can forgive us. This I believe simply means our forgiveness is in our own hands and until we can forgive others, we won’t be able to forgive ourselves.

Forgiving others leaves us with a clean and happy heart free of bitterness. If we don’t forgive others, we keep the wrong they have done to us in our minds and ultimately fight an inner battle with ourselves which always lead to an unhappy heart.

It is good to be prayerful but it is not enough to just pray. You need to pray in faith believing you have received what you have prayed for and go ahead to act like you have received it.

Faith is that link between prayer and reality. It is the distance between asking God for something and receiving that which you have requested for.

An answered prayer is a result of faith and that is why it is written in James 1:6-8 (GNT) that;

“But when you pray, you must believe and not doubt at all. Whoever doubts is like a wave in the sea that is driven and blown about by the wind. If you are like that, unable to make up your mind and undecided in all you do, you must not think that you will receive anything from the Lord.”

It is therefore important that when you pray, you pray in Faith believing that you have received all you asked for and thank God in advance for answered prayer without any form of doubt.

