Running Towards The Goal

image

Source: Pintrest

Of course, my friends, I really do not think that I have already won it; the one thing I do, however, is to forget what is behind me and do my best to reach what is ahead. So I run straight toward the goal in order to win the prize, which is God’s call through Christ Jesus to the life above. ~ Philippians 3:13-14 (GNT)

I remember vividly during one of our inter-house sport in primary school where we were being taught not just how to run but how to keep our focus and win the race. The coach told me that I should forget whoever is behind me and aim to catch up with the person in front of me and if I happen to be the one in front, I should never look back but keep running as fast as I can to the finish line.

Apparently, my focus all these while was not on the finish line but on not finishing last. I kept looking back as I run to be sure there was someone behind me but unfortunately, I tripped and fell over, I finished that race last place.

It was after these words of keeping my focus on the finish line that I was able to run and win.

Same way I was able to keep my focus on the finish line is the same way Apostle Paul wants us to keep our focus on our walk with God.

As Christians, our focus is to be on God through Christ Jesus so that at the end of the race, we will win the price which is life eternal.

The moment you take your focus off the price and try to look at how the next person beside you lives his/her life just so you can say you are a better Christian than that person, then you will trip and fall.

It is important that you keep your focus all the time and flee from all appearances of evil.

If it doesn’t seem right, it does not feel right or you are not certain about it being right, its better you don’t engage in it ‘cos most certainly, it is not right.

